Braveheart Black Angus Beef to Sponsor James Beard Foundation Awards Gala Reception

PERFORMANCE Foodservice and Braveheart® Black Angus Beef are taking center stage as an official sponsor of the 2015 James Beard Foundation Awards gala reception in Chicago on May 4. The event follows the ceremony for the prestigious restaurant industry awards, which recognize culinary excellence from across the United States.

Chef Derin Moore, CMC, of Performance Foodservice—Milton’s and chef Ron Warner from Performance Foodservice—Lester will be preparing and serving Braveheart beef to approximately 2,000 guests at the black-tie reception immediately following the awards ceremony hosted by chef and food personality Alton Brown. The event will also feature more than a dozen former James Beard Award recipients showcasing dishes that highlight the diverse food scene across America.

"This is a tremendous opportunity for us to showcase Braveheart to many of the top chefs and culinary professionals in the country," said Dave Flitman, President & CEO of Performance Foodservice. "We will make a great impression and demonstrate that Braveheart is the highest quality, PathProven Angus beef product available."

The James Beard Awards recognize culinary professionals for excellence and achievement in their fields and further the Foundation's mission to celebrate, nurture and honor America's diverse culinary heritage through programs that educate and inspire.

This year's awards take on special significance as the event celebrates its 25th anniversary and is being held for the first time outside of New York City. More than 34,000 online entries were submitted in 21 categories. We are proud to announce that two of our customers were named as finalists:

Outstanding Chef
Sean Brock, Husk, Charleston, SC 

Best Chef Southwest
Aaron Franklin, Franklin Barbecue, Austin 

We also had a host of customers who were named as semifinalists: 

Outstanding Restaurant
Fore Street, Portland, ME

Outstanding Restaurateur
Garrett Harker, Boston (Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard Kitchen are both customers)

Outstanding Service
One Flew South, Atlanta

Outstanding Wine Program
Annie Gunn's, Chesterfield, MO
McCrady's, Charleston, SC

Rising Star
Erik Bruner-Yang, Toki Underground, Washington D.C. 
Nic Gonwa, Eatery A, Des Moines, IA 

Best Chef Great Lakes
Eric Heath, Cleveland-Heath, Edwardsville, IL

Best Chef Mid-Atlantic
Lee Gregory, The Roosevelt, Richmond, VA
Angelo Vangelopoulos, The Ivy Inn, Charlottesville, VA

Best Chef Midwest
Kevin Nashan, Sidney Street Café, St. Louis
Ben Poremba, Elaia, St. Louis
Kevin Willmann, Farmhaus, St. Louis
Sean Wilson, Proof, Des Moines, IA

Best Chef Northeast
Tyler Anderson, Millwright's, Simsbury, CT
Masa Miyake, Miyake, Portland, ME

Best Chef NYC
Mark Ladner, Del Posto
Seamus Mullen, Tertulia Cesar
Ramirez, Chef's Table at Brooklyn Fare

Best Chef South
Slade Rushing, Brennan's, New Orleans
Brian Whittington, Restaurant Orsay, Jacksonville, FL

Best Chef Southeast
Todd Ginsberg, The General Muir, Atlanta

Congratulations to all our nominated restaurants and thank you for choosing Performance Foodservice!